Done with the lasts

April 9, 2015 § 3 Comments

I’m hitting the road! I’m off to see the world! – Genie, ‘Aladdin’

So this is an official thing now. In sight are Costa Coffee and Hard Rock Cafe; it’s safe to say that I’m not in Kansas anymore. Rather, I’m set up at Changi Airport, Singapore, en route to London, where I’m moving. For two years.

An overseas move is a big thing regardless of your circumstance, but making this my first move ever is probably a bit over the top. Thankfully I’m quite sleep deprived so haven’t had the capacity to comprehend exactly what I’ve done yet. It all feels very unreal. The muggy heat in Singapore doesn’t help when it comes to imagining my new life in London either – though it’ll be 20 degrees on Friday, apparently. That’s promising!

As expected, the last few days were pretty chaotic, a lot of running into rooms and forgetting what I’d gone in there for, way too many trips to my local shopping centre and endless poring over and over my mega to-do list. I’m happy to say all the important things got crossed off: travel insurance bought, phone plan cancelled, and plane ticket acquired, albeit quite last minute. The thing I’m most proud of? Fitting all my stuff into 30kgs of checked baggage. Just.

The days leading up to my departure were made up of a series of lasts: last trudge up the hill from the bus stop, last lie-in with the cat, last wander up to the local shops, last home-cooked meal. It’s going to take a bit of a mental back flip for me to start thinking about firsts now, because the next few days will be full of them. We’re in exciting times!

Now, just another 13 hours on a plane. But if Singapore Airlines have that fried rice again, all will be fine.

§ 3 Responses to Done with the lasts

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Done with the lasts at The Prattler.

meta

