Top Ten Tuesday – Words/Topics That Instantly Make Me Buy/Pick Up a Book

April 30, 2013 § 3 Comments

This week’s list was a toughie. Apologies for the hiatus from Top Ten Tuesday and the blog in general, but things have been pretty mad lately. I suddenly have a lot less time to commit to projects like this and I haven’t quite established how best to juggle it all yet, but do bear with me.

Now, words and topics that inspire me to pick up a book! As I said, this one wasn’t as straight forward as I’d imagined. So few of the books I read nowadays are picked up on a whim. Generally they come recommended or I’ve read the synopsis beforehand. That said, there are a few topics and words that pull me in more often than not.

1. Classics. Imagine classics were in themselves a genre. In an effort to build up my reading cred (what? It’s a thing), I’ve been slowly making my way through the literary classics. I can justify buying a classic, so when I come across one that piques my interest (usually this just means that I’ve heard of it), it’s on. Most recently, it was Wuthering Heights. Next up is probably The Old Man and the Sea.

2. Coming of age novels. Any book that has growing up as its central focus will inspire me to pick it up.

3. Female friendships and/or strong female characters.

4. Fairytale retellings or fairytale-inspired stories. I have read my fair share, believe me – Ella Enchanted, Spindle’s End, Fairest, The Looking Glass Wars, The Lost Girls, Dancing on Knives, Beauty, The Book of Lost Things, Tender Morsels, The Two Princesses of Bamarre, The Princess Bride and the list goes on. I love the subversion of the familiar.

5. Anything with an allusion to reading or books in the title. It’s why I picked out Mr Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore.

6. I’m attracted to books with imaginative and unusual titles: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, Pricksongs and Descants, When God was a Rabbit, The Sisters Brothers, The Memory Keeper’s Daughter, The Blind Assassin, Death with Interruptions.

7.  Curses — I love a good curse, or a haunting. Hauntings are good too. Anything that features a haunted house and mysterious passageways is right up my alley.

8. I’m also a fan of the child genius.

9. Period mysteries. I especially love the Victorian era.

10. Anything that mentions school leaving, moving away or first jobs – any book that reflects my current situation, really, and the uncertainty of being twenty-something and having to join the big, bad world.

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature run by The Broke and the Bookish.

Tagged:

§ 3 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday – Words/Topics That Instantly Make Me Buy/Pick Up a Book

  • Rory says:

    I love odd titles (and I loved The Sisters Brothers), I included is on my list as well. I should’ve included classics because I love them (Jane Eyre might be my all time favorite book) and I’ll even read the modern updates of them although they are not the same (i.e. The Flight of Gemma Hardy and Jane).

    • Laura says:

      I’d never even thought to check if some of my favourite classics had modern updates – I must do that. Jean Rhys’ Jane Eyre sequel, ‘Wide Sargasso Sea’ has been on my TBR list for a while now. Have you read it?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Top Ten Tuesday – Words/Topics That Instantly Make Me Buy/Pick Up a Book at The Prattler.

meta

