Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I HAD To Buy…But Are Still Sitting On My Shelf Unread

March 18, 2013 § Leave a comment

This is a tough one because I don’t often buy books. I’m a library kind of girl usually, but let’s see if we can scrape ten titles together for this week’s Top Ten. Consider the titles below not as books I had to buy, but rather, books I happened to buy.

1. Jude the Obscure by Thomas Hardy

This is one of my most recent purchases, bought at a second-hand book market in town. I can justify buying the classics without having read them first.

2. The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway

Bought at the same book market. So many people have wonderful things to say about this novel (Daniel Radcliffe lists it among his favourites) and I thought it’d be a nice, gentle introduction to Hemingway.

3. Death with Interruptions by José Saramago

This was on sale at Readings in St Kilda, which I used to frequent every six months or so in time with my sister’s performances at the National Theatre. Usually, I would only peruse the shelves, taking note of titles that were worth adding to my TBR list, but for some reason or other, this time, I felt compelled to buy. I got a small fraction of the way into Death with Interruptions  before becoming distracted by another book. A year or so later, I’m yet to pick it up again.

4. Jamie’s 15-Minute Meals by Jamie Oliver

I received Jamie’s latest cookbook for Christmas after wanting it for ages, but I’m yet to cook a recipe. Or really, even flick the book open.

5. Reading the Popular by John Fiske

I picked this up on a whim at an amazing second-hand bookstore closing down sale where everything was going for $3. After being out of uni for a couple of months, I was in desperate need of a media theory read, or so I thought.

6. Inside Little Britain by Matt Lucas, David Walliams & Boyd Hilton

Bought at the same closing down sale. I love the show, I love the comedy duo, I just haven’t been in the right mood.

7. Everything is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer

A good friend was selling some of her books, so I bought this one, The God of Small Things and Life of Pi (which I lost somewhere in Canada just one chapter in). I’ve read Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close since buying Foer’s first novel and was really impressed, but just haven’t felt compelled to pick up Everything is Illuminated yet.

File:EverythingIsIlluminated.jpg

8. The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy

I made the mistake of attempting this one on holiday. One page in and it was already beyond me. I’ll try again; I just might need pen and paper nearby to keep track of the characters.

9. Creative Inc. by Meg Mateo Ilasco & Joy Deangdeelert Cho

This was among my first Book Depository purchases. Fresh from completing a media degree, I thought learning the ins and outs of freelancing wouldn’t be a bad idea.

10. Forever in Blue by Ann Brashares

This was bought as a means of completing a collection, rather than because I had a great desire to read it. Or maybe I did. I can’t quite remember. The fourth book in the Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants series was published in 2007, but I didn’t know until a couple of years later when I spotted it in a bookstore in New York, of all places. By that time I’d outgrown the adventures of Tibby, Carmen, Lena and Bridget, but for the sake of nostalgia, bought the book anyway.

File:Foreverinblue.jpg

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I HAD To Buy…But Are Still Sitting On My Shelf Unread at The Prattler.

meta

