Pinch and a Punch.

June 1, 2012 § Leave a comment

June looks dangerous.

Today, we officially hit winter in the southern hemisphere. So what did I do? Went shopping for jumpers, obviously. But what I also did was have a think about this blog and the kind of changes it needs.

For a long time now, I’ve wanted to introduce a “word of the day” to my Twitter updates. So often I find myself reading books and having to look up new words as I go, but rather than committing them to memory, their meaning stays with me for as long as it takes for me to read the sentence and then they’re gone. I retain nothing. Repetition works for me, so in order to expand my vocabulary, Word of the Day is becoming a thing. See what I did there? I used bold. Bold is confident and assured. This is definitely becoming a thing.

In high school, a friend and I had a “word of the day” project that lasted all of one day. The word was “gloaming” (twilight). Obviously, that little experiment was a failure, but the fact that I haven’t forgotten the meaning of “gloaming” in all the years since, despite having never used it in my writing or daily conversations, highlights the fact that making a feature of a word helps it become ingrained.

So, I haven’t completely worked out all the nitty-gritty details of how this will work yet, but at this stage, as I come across a word I don’t know in whatever it is I’m reading at the time, I’ll tweet it along with a link to its definition. Then – I don’t know, maybe once a week? – I’ll do a summary post. Oooh, summary post!

It’s a new month. Let’s get something happening here.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pinch and a Punch. at The Prattler.

meta

