An insight to the radio industry

October 31, 2011 § Leave a comment

A friend of mine kindly forwarded me the Soundwomen report Tuning Out: Women in the UK Radio Industry by Skillset.

  • While women working in radio are better qualified than men (73% of women have degrees, compared to 60% men), they’ll be paid less – earning on average £2,200 less each year.
  • They are also less likely to make it to the top. Women make up just 34% of senior managers and only 17% at Board level.  This is much lover than in television, where 29% of board members are women.
  • Older women are less well represented too – 9% of women in radio are 50+, compared to 19% of men.
  • And 16% of women in radio have dependent children, compared to 25% of men, suggesting that many women leave when they have children.

Taken from the Soundwomen blogpost.

This is a UK survey obviously, but I have a feeling that the numbers in Australia wouldn’t stack up much better. I found it particularly interesting that women are more likely to respond to job positions advertised than men who directly contact the workplace and get positions through networking. I’m certainly not a confident networker; it’s one of my downfalls. I’m happy to chat to someone about my work and their work, but when it actually comes to asking something of them, or suggesting I’d be a good investment for them, I just can’t do it. I can’t sell myself like that. That’s something I’ll have to get over.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading An insight to the radio industry at The Prattler.

meta

